General clarification questions

Home of SOLAR STARFIRE, 6th edition, rules based on the upcoming history of the Terran Solar Union.

Moderators: SDS Members, SDS Owner

Forum rules
1. Nothing obscene.
2. No advertising or spamming.
3. No personal information. Mostly aimed at the posting of OTHER people's information.
4. No flame wars. We encourage debate, but it becomes a flame when insults fly and tempers flare.

Try to stick with the forum's topic. Threads that belong to another forum will be moved to that forum.

Re: General clarification questions

Postby procyon on Mon 23 Oct 2017 22:26

Cralis wrote:Do they not build warships with their starting funds? Marvin's tactic with mothballing starts from turn 1.


We start with a bit less restricted starting funds (my one concession for the low incomes they will deal with as the game progresses) - so there is no required amount they have to spend on warships. You want a pip squeak fleet, you can have it. Just hope no one shows up because we have no '10 turn' rule in our games.
...and I will show you fear in a handful of dust....

Cralis wrote:I would point out that the "what was" which is different from "here and now" can easily change in the "future then."
User avatar
procyon
Sky Marshal
Sky Marshal
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Mon 26 Apr 2010 16:26
Location: SE IOWA

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Whitecold on Mon 23 Oct 2017 23:23

procyon wrote:
Cralis wrote:Do they not build warships with their starting funds? Marvin's tactic with mothballing starts from turn 1.


We start with a bit less restricted starting funds (my one concession for the low incomes they will deal with as the game progresses) - so there is no required amount they have to spend on warships. You want a pip squeak fleet, you can have it. Just hope no one shows up because we have no '10 turn' rule in our games.


Also, mothballing your fleet may affect the dice used for rolling random events, and can attract berserkers, or colony fleets settling one system from you.

Generally I would aim to keep your active fleet constant as a percentage of your budget as goal to aim for. After a war you may well end up with excess ships you then don't need anymore.
Whitecold
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri 19 Sep 2014 15:03

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Cralis on Tue 24 Oct 2017 10:02

GunBunny wrote:Thanks for all the reply's, your examples certainly flesh out the options and reasons why. I can see where Marvin would mothball and take advantage of the Home system rule but its not my style.


Marvin is a power gamer, so it makes sense. And he's exceptionally good at it. I'm more of a roleplayer... I find it is more interesting. And it can pit you in challenging situations that aren't about maximizing monetary efficiency.

Question regarding building bases into crates for shipping (M5): According to the construction table to disassemble a unit it costs the cost of the hull, so if I build a base and then disassemble for shipping I would have to pay the hull cost twice? Or can you just build straight into crates for shipping?


I will have to look at the rules (I'm currently at work), but I think crates are for small craft. Prefabs are how you move bases around. Either way, you can build straight into prefabs and crates. I'll find the relevant rules later today.
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 10543
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Cralis on Tue 24 Oct 2017 13:30

THe relevant rules are M2.03 Disassemble Large Unit and M3.03 Assemble Hull. Disassembly results in an unassembled hull plus uninstalled systems that were previously in the hull. Can be done with any hull except PDC, AF, and small craft (small crafte are crated M2.08).

Second paragraph of M3.02 Build Hull states that the hull can be built in unassembled form.

In previous editions of Starfire, this was called "prefabbed"
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 10543
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Pyrite on Thu 21 Dec 2017 22:46

Is there any way to fit (CC) on an automated platform, or otherwise set up a (CC) based warp point network on a cheaper hull than a BS0?

I found the rules regarding this confusing, as P8.05.1 says "...where the (CC) are mounted on buoys or large units." but AP.01.5 lists them as disallowed for mounting on automated platforms.

Also, what is the automated platform system "c"? In the rulebook, it says only 'Communication with another “c”.'
Pyrite
Lieutenant JG
Lieutenant JG
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 14 Oct 2014 18:09

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Cralis on Fri 22 Dec 2017 02:46

Pyrite wrote:Is there any way to fit (CC) on an automated platform, or otherwise set up a (CC) based warp point network on a cheaper hull than a BS0?

I found the rules regarding this confusing, as P8.05.1 says "...where the (CC) are mounted on buoys or large units." but AP.01.5 lists them as disallowed for mounting on automated platforms.


Solar Starfire was originally based on Ultra Starfire, and in Ultra Starfire (CC) and other large HS systems were allowed to be spaced across multiple buoys. We don't allow that in Solar Starfire, and especially in the case of (CC), where we presume that the actual size of the system is larger than the space on the ship (it is presumed to also occupy the unlisted space that the ship's "basic" communications systems would have covered in addition to the extra space that the (CC) takes during construction).

We've said before that with high enough SL a lot of these rules will get exceptions, but we have not yet decided where we want that point to be in Solar Starfire yet.

Also, what is the automated platform system "c"? In the rulebook, it says only 'Communication with another “c”.'


For the next update to Solar Starfire, we have earmarked some additional text to describe this AP system. It is mentioned in P8, last bullet point, as the "AP-c" ... it is the "communications relay" that was first introduced as a buoy system in Classic Starfire. It basically allows for chains of AP-c to act as tightbeam "communications relays" to send a message across a star system undetected. (In Classic Starfire, this was the ONLY way to send messages across a system using tightbeam)
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 10543
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Pyrite on Wed 27 Dec 2017 20:54

Thanks!

So another thing that's popped up: I'm assembling tiny BS0 space stations with (CC) and Ya at every warp point in my empire. Is my mobile machine shop freighter allowed to continue assembly while moving across a system to get to the warp point that it intends to leave the station at? Can it transit a WP while in the middle of a build task?
Pyrite
Lieutenant JG
Lieutenant JG
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 14 Oct 2014 18:09

Re: General clarification questions

Postby coldsteel on Thu 28 Dec 2017 11:17

Pyrite wrote:Thanks!

So another thing that's popped up: I'm assembling tiny BS0 space stations with (CC) and Ya at every warp point in my empire. Is my mobile machine shop freighter allowed to continue assembly while moving across a system to get to the warp point that it intends to leave the station at? Can it transit a WP while in the middle of a build task?


The answer to both of these should be no. Cannot quote a rule ref at this time, however...
TFN: 1 BB, 2 BC, 4 CA, 2 CL, 11 DD
RPSA: 2 CV, 4 CA, 2 CL, 8 DD
civilian: 4 'FTx' (made FT out of 40K Imp Guard flamer tanks)
coldsteel
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue 14 Jul 2009 15:28
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Cralis on Thu 28 Dec 2017 14:46

Pyrite wrote:So another thing that's popped up: I'm assembling tiny BS0 space stations with (CC) and Ya at every warp point in my empire. Is my mobile machine shop freighter allowed to continue assembly while moving across a system to get to the warp point that it intends to leave the station at? Can it transit a WP while in the middle of a build task?


No. Second paragraph of M1 says that the construction facilities must spent the entire month undamaged in the same tactical hex or orbit.

Construction facilities are presumed to "unpack" in order to do construction jobs and use more physical area than the spaces on the ship, so they cannot be under propulsion and "building" at the same time.
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 10543
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: General clarification questions

Postby Pyrite on Fri 29 Dec 2017 16:11

So given that I recently rolled 'unavoidable war', I'm likely to need to invade a planet soon. To that end, I'm considering pre-training a standing army of Qt. However, looking through the book, I'm having a little trouble comprehending what the cost of maintaining such an army on my homeworld would be, or even if there is such a cost.

The rules in V4.01 seem to only apply to Qt in a combat zone or on a conquered planet. Is there any cost to maintaining Qt outside of those circumstances?
Pyrite
Lieutenant JG
Lieutenant JG
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 14 Oct 2014 18:09

PreviousNext

Return to Solar Starfire

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests