Population for Sensors

Home of SOLAR STARFIRE, 6th edition, rules based on the upcoming history of the Terran Solar Union.

Moderators: SDS Members, SDS Owner

Forum rules
1. Nothing obscene.
2. No advertising or spamming.
3. No personal information. Mostly aimed at the posting of OTHER people's information.
4. No flame wars. We encourage debate, but it becomes a flame when insults fly and tempers flare.

Try to stick with the forum's topic. Threads that belong to another forum will be moved to that forum.

Re: Population for Sensors

Postby Xveers on Wed 27 May 2020 23:18

Cralis wrote:
At the start of the game, your colony has a range of 60 tH. That seems pretty bad for the cost. Even with Yca, the range is only 1 sH. I'm wondering if people build little outposts for that effect, like in the Ernie's Earthling Empire tutorial.


I've done it before, but I did that on a planet in the inner system. It seems like it would have absolutely no value say... on Pluto. But on Mars? Probably a decent change of crossing paths with others flying around your system.


It's also worth noting that a basic Yca only has that 1 sH, but that's 12 LM. And planetary orbits are measured in LM. So that means that you've got pretty good odds of covering at least 50% of the inner system (the farthest orbit you can get for the first planet is 8 LM, and you can have planets from 1-8).
User avatar
Xveers
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed 15 Jul 2009 02:26
Location: New Westminster, BC, Canada

Re: Population for Sensors

Postby Lomn on Fri 29 May 2020 09:12

In addition to sensors, the other advantage to emplacing a population is to get a commo relay with significant tightbeam range (P2.03). I generally plan to drop a 5 PU population (minimum to see growth) anywhere I want to extend a permanent commo chain.
User avatar
Lomn
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Tue 30 Oct 2012 08:19
Location: MSFC, Alabama

Re: Population for Sensors

Postby SDTroll on Fri 29 May 2020 11:18

Thanks, that was what I was thinking, I just wasn't sure if I was missing something.
SDTroll
Commander
Commander
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon 01 Mar 2010 13:09

Re: Population for Sensors

Postby Cralis on Fri 29 May 2020 12:28

And since we are thinking of reasons, it also gives you a (admittedly very small) intra-system CFN presence :)
Image
User avatar
Cralis
SDS Member
SDS Member
 
Posts: 11538
Joined: Tue 30 Jun 2009 19:27
Location: Oregon, USA

Previous

Return to Solar Starfire

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

cron